Connect with us


ATU debate, public speaking society makes history at GUDC 2022



The Accra Technical University (ATU) contingent that competed in the 8th edition of the Ghana University Debate Championship (GUDC), which is the largest debate and public speaking competition for tertiary institutions in Ghana, made history by winning a significant amount.
The first new participating institution to break (qualify) from the preliminary rounds into the qualification knockout stages, with 50% adjudicators breaking and 45% teams breaking, ATU becomes the first technical university in the nation to do so.
Ms. Rachael Otiko Tettey won the medal for Best New Judge, and Master Nathaniel Kwebi Antwi won the award for Best Institutional Speaker from ATU. The night was also a big win for the university.
ATU judges presided over major rounds and paneled top rooms during preliminary rounds throughout the competition.Ms. Rachael Otiko Tettey served as panelist for the tournament’s novice final, quarterfinal, and semi-final rounds for the open debate category.
The tournament’s Open final and novice semi-finals were judged by Master Nana Yaw Sekyere.These point to the team’s exceptional display of wit.
Michael Koranteng, ATU Debate and Public Speaking Society Coach In an interview with, Michael Koranteng, ATU Debate and Public Speaking Society Coach, stated that he has been impressed at what the team has been able to accomplish in light of the brief amount of time they had to train and prepare for the national championship.
A generation that thinks is a powerful generation.I hope that this fire, like the one that is being started at the Accra Technical University, will not die out.
“A special thank you to Professor Samuel Nii Odai, the Vice-chancellor of ATU;Ms. Bridget Oduro Kyerewaa, Secretary of the DOSA, and Mr. Martin Owusu Amoamah, Dean of Student Affairs at ATU, for their ongoing support of the debate society.We hope it continues to expand,” stated Mr. Koranteng.
Rachael Otiko Tettey, Joyce Awuni Timbillah, Nana Yaw Sekyere, and Sikiru Ibrahim Baba were the four judges who represented ATU.
There were ten speakers who represented.They are Joshua Tetteh Adjei, Joyce Dzidzor Kugbadzor, Nathaniel Kwebi Antwi, Deborah Esther Agordorku, and Emmanuel Wumborbe Bisilki.
The remaining individuals are Kelvin Ajube Michael, Rhoda Naa Lartey, Mehetabel Aquinas Gyebi, Maame Gyamfiwaa Amaning, and Samuel Aduamah Yeboah.
The ATU Debate Society exemplifies perseverance, dedication, and hard work.Thank you very much,” Michael Koranteng added.

ATU debate, public speaking society makes history at GUDC 2022


%d bloggers like this: