Connect with us


For 14 Nigerian universities, the FG allocates 230.9 billion



In the budget for 2023, the federal government has allocated N230.9 billion to 14 Nigerian federal universities, with UNN receiving the most funding.

The University of Nigeria Nsukka, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, the University of Benin, and the University of Ibadan will all receive N230.9 billion, according to Brand Spur Nigeria.
Other institutions include Nigeria Open University (NOUN), University of Lagos, University of Jos, University of Ilorin, Federal University of Technology, Owerri, FUT Akure, Minna, and University of Calabar.
The allocation comes amid the Academic Staff Union of Universities’ (ASUU) eight-month strike.Brand Spur Nigeria is aware that the university body is contemplating calling off the strike and inviting members to vote on whether or not it should resume.
According to the 2023 budget breakdown, Ahmadu Bello University received N25.8 billion, the University of Lagos received N22.3 billion, and the University of Nigeria, Nsukka received N29.3 billion.
Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, received N18.3 billion, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Calabar received N21.5 billion, Benin University received N19.5 billion, Ibadan University received N19.2 billion, and Benin University received N19.5 billion.
The budget allocated N18.1 billion to the University of Ilorin, N16.3 billion to Obafemi Awolowo University, and N14.2 billion to the University of Jos.
For the Federal Technology Universities, N14.3 billion was given to FUTO in Owerri, N8.4 billion to FUTA in Akure, and N7.2 billion to FUT Minna.
In the meantime, the budget will provide N10.7 billion to the Nigeria Open University (NOUN).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


%d bloggers like this: